thut Farnham stream

bookroom presents: : – Stefan Thut

James Hockey Gallery
UCA Farnham
10/04/2019 4.30pm
Streamed from 4.15pm, (headphones recommended) and in Elaine Thomas Library foyer (headphones provided).

With Chris Jones (guitar), Arusik Nanyan (guitar), Anna Menzies (cello), Stefan Thut (cello), Emmanuelle Waeckerle (voice), Harry Whalley (small instruments).

Two pieces will be performed by musicians drawn from London’s experimental and improvised music scene, students, researchers and members of the Audio Research Cluster at UCA Farnham.

along (2016)
What kind of sound emerges when certain materials and stringed objects are dragged on the floor? How about playing an instrument as a response to the sound perceived?

two strings and three (2016) Related to the activity of dragging is bowing a string very very slowly, as in between stagnation and movement and as a time frame for a melody to unfold.

Stefan Thut is interested in processes and scores inviting both performers and audience to delve into a different world. His work often incorporates everyday material alongside traditional instruments. For him “music is directly linked to the sensual, if the sensual is taken in a literal meaning as the starting-point of perceiving music at all.”

Stefan’s work has been performed at the Kunstraum Düsseldorf, Kid Ailack Concert Hall Tokyo, Gez-21 Saint Petersburg, University of the Basque Country Bilbao, Lely Amsterdam, the Diapason Gallery, New York and at Säulenhalle Landhaus Solothurn, among other locations. His music and recordings have been released by Edition Wandelweiser Records, Another Timbre, Elsewhere, Intonema, INSUBrecords, Leerraum, to name a few.

The concert series, is a collaboration between bookRoom and the Audio Research Cluster at UCA Farnham, curated by Emmanuelle Waeckerle and Harrey Whalley, around their common research in


Chris Jones musical activities have included teaching, composition, performances across a number of genres and music therapy. He is a Librarian at UCA Farnham and a sessional lecturer for Music Technology and Composition.

Anna Menzies is a London based cellist , member of the Gildas Quartet and visiting lecturer on the Music Composition and Technology course.

Arusik Nanyan is a student on the Music Composition and Technology course.
Emmanuelle Waeckerle is a London based artist, performer and improviser and a Reader and

bookroom lead at UCA Farnham

Harry Whalley is an award-winning composer of contemporary classical, film and electroacoustic music. He leads the BA/BSc (Hons) Music Composition & Technology course and the Audio Research Cluster at UCA Farnham

The concert will also take place the next day in London.

Iklectik art lab London 11/04/2019 7.30pm

With Angharad Davies (violin), Phil Durrant (mandolin), Laura Lee (guitar),
Stefan Thut (cello), Artur Vidal (saxophone), Emmanuelle Waeckerle (voice), Harry Whalley (small instruments), Yifeat Ziv (voice).