Caffrey Greg

bookroom presents: Greg Caffrey performed by Rarescale

The concert series, is a collaboration between bookRoom and the Audio Research Cluster at UCA Farnham, curated by Emmanuelle Waeckerle and Harrey Whalley, around their common research in extended, textual, visual, gestural and object scores and ways to integrate or experience technology in text/music/film/performances.

The Irish composer Greg Caffrey is the 6th guest composer of the series of streamed concerts, after Marie Cécile Reber (CH, Feb 2020), Gildas Quartet (UK, Oct 2019), Marcus Kaiser (DE, May 2019), Stefan Thut (CH, April 2019), Jessica Aslan and Emma Lloyd (UK, March 2019).

With rarescale
Carla Rees (Flute)
David Black (Guitar)

24th March 2021 at 8pm
Live Streamed from London IKLEKTIK followed by a Q&A

Tickets and donations 

The concert will feature the works of Greg Caffrey. As a guitarist, Greg’s compositional forms follow from the strengths of the guitar, not just in the works for this instrument but also translating them to others. Arpeggio patterns and runs are echoed in the solo Alto flute piece Tre Correnti for example. Greg works in the domain of fully notated through composed composition. His works share a fluidity of colour and tone that allows the performer to interoperate, challenge and respond to the written material.

The Uses of Not (2006) for classical guitar and alto flute.

Tre Correnti (2013) for solo alto flute

Variations on a Dream of Tárrega (2016) for solo classical guitar (World Premiere)

Streaming links: